Yet another reason to love yoga

Amy O, my dear friend who gets married herself in less than three weeks, and yours truly

Reason number 199 that I love yoga:

When you

  • have spent hours on your feet taking photos
  • are incredibly tense in your neck and shoulders from having approximately 200 people looking at you
  • feel very emotional because a friend you have known for 15 years is getting married, and you can remember all the way back to the days that pre-dated boys
  • can’t cry to release the emotion because you’re wearing far more eye makeup than you’re accustomed to
  • feel overwhelmed with joy because so many people you love are all in the same place

you still know how to move your body to leave it all behind. Here is a wedding day sequence to take care of all of the above:

Seated meditation
Padmasana (Lotus)
Baddha Konasana (Bound Angle)
Ardha Matsyendrasana (Half Lord of the Fishes)
Parivrtta Janu Sirsasana (Revolved Head-to-Knee)
Bitilasana (Cow)
Marjaryasana (Cat) (repeat cow/cat)
Balasana (child’s)
Sphinx Pose
Balasana
Adho Mukha Svanasana (Downward facing dog)
Virabhadrasana I (warrior I)
Parsvottanasana (pyramid)
Parivrtta Trikonasana (revolved triangle)
Adho Mukha Svanasana
Virabhadrasana I (warrior I)
Parsvottanasana (pyramid)
Parivrtta Trikonasana (revolved triangle)
Adho Mukha Svanasana
Balasana
Setu Bandha Sarvangasana (Bridge)
Urdhva Dhanurasana (Wheel)
Savasana

Namaste,
Jamie

11 responses to “Yet another reason to love yoga

  1. ooh sequence :)

    may i link?

    (you know i always always ask!)

    you look pretty in pink, too

    -emma

  2. oh man. you KNOW that I’m practicing on my big day right?? I Need to print this sequence!! :)

  3. You look so pretty in pink! Weddings are great. :) I am teaching a friend and her hubby-to-be and their guests next week on the am of their big day!

  4. i will have to save this for next year when I am in not one but TWO weddings… mere weeks apart!
    don’t forget to enter my giveaway :)
    http://callahyoga.blogspot.com/2010/06/chicobag-giveaway.html

  5. Emma, of course you may link!

    LaGitane and EcoYogini – let me know what you come up with for a sequence before a wedding day. This was a good one for my aching legs and hips from all the standing, and I was yearning for that chest opener, too.

    Callah – you’ll need it! : )

  6. haha, I had to come back over and reply because i LOVE target- whenever I cross-border shop Target is top of the list!

  7. You look beautiful! Also love #4, “can’t cry…b/c you’re wearing far more eye makeup than you are accustomed to.” Made me laugh. :P

  8. You look beautiful in all colors. You looked very graceful under all the stress. Cathy told me she has noticed a change in you since you are doing yoga. :)

  9. I went to a yoga class just before I got married last summer and managed to get my husband to be to go with me….ironically, the teacher taught a class in which the theme was about giving love from the heart…it was perfect and at the end, she had us om and asked the whole class to send us blessings for our love…it was pretty special. Wouldn’t it be a good idea to offer private yoga classes especially for couples about to be married with themes like this! So fun! I like your blog, it’s my first time here, so glad I found it!

  10. Pretty in pink :-)
    Great sequence Jamie, I guess it works on any long rough day :-)

Leave a comment