Thoughts about the coming of fall, and a few words by Mary Oliver

In the blog world, people are discussing the coming of fall. Indeed, there is a refreshing chill in the air every morning, and I do love sweatshirt and jeans weather.

I feel fortunate for all of the blessings I have in my life and I treasure the idea of the seasons changing. However, watching this summer slip away has left me with a pervasive sense of melancholy. The days go by so quickly.

I have been swept up in a streak of nostalgia. I’m revisiting old music, reconnecting with old friends via email, lovingly remembering good times that are gone. It amazes me how much younger I look in photos taken just three years ago. But when I think of all that I have learned about life in the past three years…it seems fitting that those lessons left their mark in some way.

I have been contemplating the idea of my own aging in a way I never have before. Beyond wrinkles. This summer slipped through my fingers before I quite had a chance to grasp it. How many more summers will do the same? How many summers will I be blessed with in this life?

When one day closely resembles the last, it’s easy to become complacent. But when the seasons are changing right before your eyes, the passing of time is harder to ignore.

How do you feel about the coming of fall?

Namaste,
Jamie

***

It is our nature not only to see
that the world is beautiful

but to stand in the dark, under the stars,
or at noon, in the rainfall of light,

frenzied,
wringing our hands,

half-mad, saying over and over:

what does it mean that the world is beautiful–
what does it mean?

-Mary Oliver, “The Leaf and the Cloud”

5 responses to “Thoughts about the coming of fall, and a few words by Mary Oliver

  1. I LOVE that poem. It is AWESOME. Love Love Love. I will be looking for more of hers!!

    There are times in our lives when our mortality strikes us in different ways. Deaths, births, marriages, and yes, the changing of the seasons. Each season like a little savasana – a symbolised death and rebirth. At the end of the day we can’t answer those questions, we can only know that we are here NOW. And that is why we make the most of every day, every joy, every beauty we are blessed with – and we are blessed.

    Namaste!

  2. Autumn comes with huge changes for me (more on that next week) so I’m welcoming it with a mix of excitement and trepidation. It does always feel like a fresh start somehow. I live in a big University town so everything kicks off properly when term starts in October :)

  3. I LOVE Fall too and the change in the seasons here in Ohio. You wrote so eloquently about the passage of time. It really is amazing how our perception of it changes as we grow older.

  4. Beautiful post Jamie, and beautiful poem too!
    I haven’t always welcomed autumn with a big hug, but this year feels different. Maybe because I’ve matured a bit over the years, but also because I’m starting yoga teacher training this fall, and overall my life is changing.
    I had a beautiful summer, the best one in ages, but I know this autumn will also be special.

  5. I love the coming of fall. I am mostly enjoying the last of summer.
    Love the Mary Oliver. Her poems are so good at capturing seasons of the earth and life.

Leave a Reply

