Bring on the books

I am ready to start building a yoga library. I love all things books, which is obvious if you ever visit my home, and it’s time to get serious about the theory behind the asana.

Last week I issued a request on twitter for yoga book suggestions. I got a lot of responses (thanks @YogaSweetie, @sweatydarla, @yoga_mydrishti, @cmcriverdawn, and @MicheleLMBT!). Here are the suggestions I’ve received:

  • Yoga Mind, Body and Spirit – Donna Farhi
  • Teaching Yoga – Mark Stephens
  • Journey into Power – Baron Baptiste
  • The Inner Tradition of Yoga – Michael Stone
  • The Heart of Yoga: Developing a Personal Practice – TKV Desikachar
  • Yoga: The Spirit and Practice of Moving into Stillness – Erich Schiffman
  • Yoga: A Gem for Women – Geeta Iyengar
  • Light on Yoga – BKS Iyengar

Are there anything important I’m missing? Of course the Gita is on my list for someday, too.

If you’ve read these books, what did you think?

Namaste,
Jamie

3 responses to “Bring on the books

  1. Another must is “Cool Yoga Tricks” – it is actually a book that shows how to work on some of the poses with adjustments or enhancements to get more out of the pose.

    I love the “Moving into Stillness” book as well.

  2. Hey Jamie,
    I am reading the Gita now. I don’t know why I waited so long. Didn’t see your twitter request. Here are some others I would suggest:

    Yoga, Discipline of Freedom – Yoga Sutras – Barbara Stoler Miller
    Yoga & the Quest for the True Self – Stephen Cope
    Meditations from the Mat – Rolf Gates
    Living Your Yoga – Lasater
    Yoga & Ayurveda – David Frawley
    Miracle of Mindfulness – Thich Nhat Hanh (not a yoga book, but awesome)

    I am a book lover too! Hoping to have an actual “library” in my home one day!

  3. Mindfulness Yoga by Frank Jude Boccio! We had him speak for a week or so in our training and he really opened my eyes. great book and an amazing person. I want to attend his retreat at Kripalu in october!!

    Also seconding “Living your yoga”

Leave a Reply

