Achy Breaky Everything

Andy and me this April

Sometimes I get irritated with my husband because he doesn’t seem very sympathetic when I voice a complaints about the way my body feels. When I ask why I only get a grunt in response to these comments, he says that there’s “always something going on with your body.”

I grudgingly admit he may have a point.

For the past couple of weeks I have been keeping track of all the times I mention a pain, discomfort, or dis-ease, and I have said/complained about the following:

  • Headache: several times.
  • Dull ache in left shoulder, working its way up the neck: I first thought it was from the rainy weather, and then worried it was the beginning of a repetitive motion injury – it’s actually a result of sleeping in the same position every night for about a year.
  • Miscellaneous gastrointestinal problems: due to medicine I’ve been taking.
  • Sore feet – extremely achy arches: fixed by consciously choosing shoes with arch support for the evening dog walk.
  • Sharp twinge in my right ribcage: lasted about a week and it hurt any time I twisted, bent over or stretched my right side. Eventually a bruise worked its way up to the surface of my skin. Who knows what happened there.
  • Joint aches (particularly elbows and wrists): these actually did pertain to the weather.
  • An extremely tight right hip flexor: it wouldn’t seem to open no matter what I did. Over time it gradually stopped being so cranky – no explanation for that.
  • Nausea/dizziness: hypoglycemia, also due to medicine.
  • Feeling tired: pretty much every day.

Looking at this list, I realize that it’s perhaps a bit tiring to hear all of this from your partner in a space of about two and a half weeks. Furthermore, this was during at time that I was generally healthy. So during a week when I perhaps have a head cold or am recovering from a wisdom tooth extraction, I might be downright unbearable.

click for source

In my defense, probably only 20% of this is whiny complaining (seriously, my sore feet could have been remedied by a foot rub by you-know-who). The rest of my verbalizations regarding the state of my body are kind of a “wondering aloud” of thing.

My body seems to have a mind of its own a lot of the time. I don’t ever really know what to expect from it; however, I am incredibly in tune with it. Healthy or not, I notice every tiny thing that goes on in there and I’m always mindful of how it’s feeling.

Perhaps it goes without saying that I wasn’t this way before I got into yoga.

…and if I’m being honest, I also have this tiny irrational thing that I got from watching too much of the Discovery Health channel (or something like that) in college. It’s just that there were all sorts of programs where one partner collapsed, fell deathly ill, lapsed into a coma, etc. The other partner was left saying “This came out of nowhere!”

And then the person who remained healthy mentioned (like something was just beginning to dawn on him) “Well, come to think of it, she did complain about a sharp twinge in her right ribcage for about a week…could that have been the first signs of amniocardioorthostaticsclerosis?”

And the attentive partner saves the day, providing just enough information to lead to a diagnosis/treatment/explanation.

So yeah, that’s a little weird. Probably not a good enough reason to plague my husband with every ache and pain. Maybe I should keep it to myself from now own?

Readers – how “in tune” do you consider yourself and your body? Do you think yoga helps us determine why we feel the way we do?

Namaste,
Jamie

9 responses to “Achy Breaky Everything

  1. Because I have fibromyalgia I have to be as tuned in to my body as possible all the time otherwise I can easily overdo it and end up in bed for a couple of days which I. Do. Not. Want!

    Thank the gods for yoga because without it I couldn’t be as in tune as I am.

  2. i often wonder if i feel more aches and pains when i practice regularly than when i dont. that im so much more “in tune” that when things are a little bit off, i sense it.

    im also a hypochrondriac, and announce every little thing in case i collapse in a heap and the medic asked: “did she mention anything?”

  3. I think my man probably feels the same way about my body talk. I’m also a bit of a hypochondriac, and super body aware. He often suggests that the yoga causes more problems than it fixes — to this, I say these things were always happening, it’s the body awareness brought on by the yoga that helps me to recognize and remedy the issues, rather than letting them fester and turn into chronic pain and tension.

  4. Hmmm. Great post! I think I’m not very in tune with my body. I get bruises all the time and wonder, “Huh. How did that happen?” My hubby is always the one to point out that I’m getting sunburned (who, me? with my olive skin tone? nah!). The only thing I really pay attention to is bug bites- I hate the itchiness so much that if there is a bug within a 50 mile radius, I will sense it and immediately demand some combination of bug spray & citronella candles.

    So the other day I tell my hubby that I want to go in and see if my doc can run a blood test to see if I have hypothyroidism. It runs in my family and a lot of the symptoms match up with my day-to-day complaints that I thought everybody had. Then I realized, you know what- I’m paying for my health insurance, why not use it and just get the test done just in case? Maybe what I’ve always considered “oh that’s just how I am” doesn’t necessarily have to be that way! Of course, he just looked at me in silence for a couple seconds before saying, “Okay. Whatever you want to do.” lol He didn’t get it.

  5. I think being body aware is super important, but so is moderating your anxiety about health and its impact on those around you! Esp. if you are driving your hubby (and yourself) nuts with your aches and pains.

    Sometimes we fall into patterns, like of constant complaining. I wonder what would happen if for one week, for every negative thing you sense about your body, you made yourself think of two positive things? If you change your way of thinking about it, would it make a difference in how you experience your body?

    Interesting food for thought as always Jamie!

  6. PS you and your hubby are so CUTE! ;)

  7. Thanks for all the support ladies, and LaGitane, you are right about the negative patterns we fall into. I guess being aware of it is the first step, right? : )

  8. Such a great post! Maybe I liked it so much because now I know I’m not alone :)

    Misanthropic Yogini, my husband has said the same thing, and I’ve given him the same answer (though less eloquently, I’m certain!).

    I think it was on Reluctant Ashtangi’s blog that I read that, once after she complained about soreness in some part of her body, her instructor said, “Don’t worry, the soreness will move somewhere else.” This was a bit of a practice-changer for me. I remain super aware of everything I feel in my body, but I don’t stress out unless it truly begins to feel like an illness or injury.

  9. P.S. Such a cute photo of you and your husband!!

Leave a Reply

