Product Review: prAna capris

image from prAna, reproduced at marthastewart.com

A while back I wrote a post about my need for new yoga clothes. The response was overwhelming. Readers who had never introduced themselves before weighed in on the issue, and my regular readers (love you guys!) had a lot to say, as well.

One brand I did not mention in the post was prAna, but Babs kindly brought it to my attention (thanks Babs!). Unbeknownst to me, a prAna representative was reading my blog, too. He was surprised and pleased to see the conversation I stirred up, and contacted me to offer a 50% discount on the pair of pants of my choice! Whoo hoo! He and I had a nice chat over the phone and I ended up choosing the Diane Capri.

I have been in love with these capris since I received them. I ordered a size medium, which fits perfectly. I have taught several classes in them, worn them to class when I was not teaching, and even worn them out to run errands. They are awesome. I know you’ve all seen this handstand photo before, but it’s the best one I have of me wearing them. I am not a very good pants model : )

I think my favorite thing about these capris is the compression. They do just enough to pull me in where I need it (hips, thighs), without feeling tight in any way. They were being washed when I went to class this past Monday, so I wore an old pair of Target pants, and I definitely noticed a difference after exclusively wearing the Dianes for the past couple of weeks. My old pants feel thicker and bulkier than my prAnas.

Another cutesy thing about this product is a tiny hidden pocket on the waistband. Just big enough for one key or a few dollars, it’s not disruptive to movement but will probably come in handy sometime. I have washed the capris once and they held up wonderfully on their first wash, which I hope will continue.

The price of the Dianes is $65. This is a little less than average when you look at similar lulu ($64-86) or lucy ($58-88) products.

I am very thankful for the discount, which allowed me to wet my toes with the prAna brand without spending full price. To be perfectly honest with you, I still think $65 is a lot to spend on one article of clothing. I am a frugal shopper and more often than not, my entire work outfit adds up to about that much, including bra and shoes.

However, if you’re ready to bite the bullet and spend a little more on some yoga clothes, this is an excellent brand to start with. You will not be disappointed in the product. Not to mention, the customer service I received ordering over the phone was friendly, helpful, and efficient, and I received my package in no time.

My first experience with prAna was so positive that I will surely be shopping there again!

Namaste,
Jamie

9 responses to “Product Review: prAna capris

  1. Ooh, good to know! They look great on you, Jamie. I think I will have to splurge on those some time soon. :)

  2. I am in the process of buying new yoga clothes. Right now it’s working out that buying them in the States even with the export tax is cheaper than getting inferior quality (and ugly) clothes here. I was just on the Prana site so this is good to know.

    Did anyone mention TranquiliT in the last post. I think I’m going to get some stuff there. I’ll let you know!

    http://www.tranquilit.com/about

  3. There is a Prana store in my town (Boulder)… after your positive experience, I’m inclined to check it out.

    Thanks!

  4. I wondered about their clothing- great to know!!

    Yay for discounts!!! :)

    also- very interested in the TranquiliT clothing……

  5. SCORE! And they look super cute on you, too! :)

  6. what a timely post! I got an email today from Korba, after inquiring about their instructor discount about 2 months ago. Well, now they upped the discount to 50% off online purchases for instrucutors, good to know if you ever want to branch out! Although I won’t need new workout gear for a LONG time (i’m loaded up!) i can’t wait to check out non-lulu as I’ve been noticed some quality issues lately, sad because I love the styles.
    Happy to hear you had a good experience :)

  7. wow, major typo, Zobha!

  8. Hey Jamie!!
    We totally have had awesome gifts from prAna!!! :)

  9. Yay! I’m glad you like Prana! The stuff I have has held up forever…like 5 years and I certainly don’t treat stuff nicely!

Leave a Reply

