Leaving on a Jet Plane

On Friday afternoon, I will be here:

That’s right, I am packing my bags and jetting off to California for the weekend to visit a friend from high school who lives 45 minutes outside of San Francisco. This is extremely exciting for me – I am not exactly a world traveler as I have stayed within the Midwest my entire life, traveling a number of times to Florida and once to Mexico and that is all. The farthest west I have been is Des Moines, Iowa…so California will be a culture shock!

Flying, airports, crowds, and all such things make me very anxious, so this will be a good opportunity for me to practice my deep breathing and take my yoga practice off the mat.

Also, I will be waking up somewhere around 2:15 am to start this journey. I am usually strict on my no caffeine rule, but I may have to make an exception on Friday. : )

Any good yoga studio suggestions in the Bay Area?

Namaste,
Jamie

10 responses to “Leaving on a Jet Plane

  1. I live in Mountain View. I like “California Yoga” in Palo Alto, “Yoga of Los Altos” in Los Altos, and “Yoga is Youthfulness” in Mountain View. I’ve also recently discovered an outdoor yoga class in Mountain View. Very peaceful and inspiring (even though it might be too gentle for you). Enjoy your stay in the Bay! Anne

  2. Enjoy!! You’re going to have an amazing time, and I expect to see a post all about it as soon as you get back :)

  3. Have a great trip! San Fran is totally on my list of places I’d love to see one day. :)

  4. SanFran is THE capital of yoga. Seriously. There are too many studios to pick from. But hey, try Yoga Tree, it’s Darren Main’s studio I believe *fangirl* ;)

    http://darrenmain.com/schedule/ongoing_classes/ongoing_schedule.html

  5. very fun!!! i would LOVE to go to California to visit someday….

    also- isn’t there a blog that’s devoted to yoga studios in the bay area??? ummmm…. wait i will go look around and try to find it. :) brb

  6. ok. so LA is NOT really San Francisco (lol)… sorry! if you still want the link it’s http://accidentalyogist.blogspot.com/

    but she seems to only hbave LA links. maybe she would have some ideas though? :)

    Lisa

  7. Have a wonderful time, Jamie! I spent about 8 hours in SF once, and can’t wait until I can get back there. It’s lovely.

  8. i have no tips but have a wonderful time! I loved my vacation there in 2008!

  9. ok- i have just found Cora Wen’s webpage. she’s in SF- not sure how much her classes are, but I like her writing for Elephant Journal! :)
    http://www.corawen.com/index.html

  10. You are going to be in yoga heaven! When I was there, I went to two of the Yoga Tree studios (I wrote a bit about it at http://moving-meditation.blogspot.com/2010/04/highlights-from-san-francisco.html), and I really liked Yoga Tree. I’ve also heard there’s a great donation-based studio there, but I can’t remember the name. I’ll think on it and try to get back to you. Have fun!!!!

Leave a Reply

