In which I discuss surgery, spring, and strangers

It has been a rough couple of days, but I can see the light at the end of the tunnel. I wasted away the most beautiful weekend of the year sleeping in bed and icing my aching jaws, growing ever more despondent at the state of things (did you know that even ICE CREAM requires some chewing? I know it now).

But fortunately, I have a sweet and caring husband and two concerned, affectionate dogs to get me through life’s ups and downs and oral surgeries.

I’m coming out the other end, but I wasn’t feeling that great today. I had a headache and felt really foggy-headed, even though I’m off the major painkillers.

So it’s no surprise that tonight my yoga teacher walked into class and looked right at me and asked “are you tired tonight?” I mean, we expect our yoga teachers to be more in tune with our body language than the average bear. But I also had another person who hardly knows me – one of our caterers at work – ask me if I was feeling okay today. Concerned look on his face and all.

I didn’t realize that I was wearing my heart on my sleeve.

Then again, the gorgeous (gorgeous!) spring weather seems to have made people around here extremely open and honest. I had the following conversation with my anesthesiologist on Friday (this is post nitrous oxide, pre sedation, so I’m awake but feeling quite goofy)

Anesthesiologist: How do you feel?
Jamie: I feel great. I wish I could be on this stuff all the time. I wish I could go to work on this stuff.
A: Where do you work?
J: (I tell her)
A: Do you like it?
J: It’s fine.
A: But you don’t love it?
J: No, but I don’t hate it. So that counts for something right? Lots of people hate their jobs.
A: Right, but you should try to find something you love.
J: I’m working on it. I teach yoga!
A: Now that’s a cool job! I want to try yoga sometime.
J: You should! It’s the best.

And that’s about when the doctor came in and said “It’s time to take a little nap!” Maybe it’s just me, but that seems like  a pretty deep conversation to have with your anesthesiologist.

But the best of the bracingly honest conversations I’ve had lately was tonight, when I stopped at the convenience store before class. After I paid, the guy told me to have a great day. I politely said “you too”. He looked right at me and said “I already am!”

Namaste,
Jamie

6 responses to “In which I discuss surgery, spring, and strangers

  1. Sometimes I walk into a yoga class and I can tangibly feel how tired my students are. And then I have to throw out the lesson I had planned and wing something!

    Hope you are 100% really soon :)

    (such a cute photo!)

  2. Aww, sending positive energy your way! Sometimes it almost makes me nervous how people can pick up on my thoughts and moods just based on my facial expression and overall demeanor. It’s like, “Sheesh. Get out of my head!” But it’s way better than being told you look tired when you’re in fact, not tired. lol

    And I love the story about the convenience store clerk- I always say, “You too” and never get a response like that!

    PS- I love your dogs.

  3. wow, that WAS a deep conversation with your anesthesiologist! I’m glad you’re recovering and soon it will just be a fuzzy memory:)

    I try to make eye contact and respond to the greetings from the homeless people in Halifax… sometimes it can backfire, but most of the time I hope it makes them feel more human… how terrible to be ignored all day- no wonder so many act the way they do.

    I think you’re right though, spring IS making people more honest and open!

  4. Sometimes all the signs are there… It’s just a question of making the leap! :) Hope your recovery goes well! :) :)

  5. Oh, gawd, I remember when I got my wisdom teeth out…some of the worst (physical) pain I’d ever felt…until five years ago when I broke my hand and dislocated fingers and ended up with four big pins (nails) between my knuckles…I vaguely remember having quite a conversation with my anesthesiologist before that, too, but, not surprisingly, don’t remember it…

  6. I love my dogs too. They are my sweet little buddies!

    Eco- whenever I go to Chicago, I give my leftovers to someone on the street. It’s amazing how truly grateful they are for something that most people are throwing away inside the restaurant. It’s really not that hard to recognize humanity in each other if we just try.

    And Dr. J, this is not the worst physical pain I have ever felt, but it is definitely very uncomfortable. And yowza, I have never had pins in my fingers!

Leave a Reply

