Stop and smell the roses (tulips)

our tulips opened this week!

I am having my wisdom teeth out tomorrow. This scenario has all the ingredients of Major Jamie Anxiety:

  • doctors (especially a male doctor)
  • needles (IV)
  • new medical experiences (anesthesia)
  • taking a day off work against my own choosing
  • unexpected outcomes (when will I be able to eat normal food again?)
  • the possibility of serious pain, infection, complication, etc etc etc.

What I’m getting at here is that I am usually a huge, nervous wimp when it comes to these things. But not this time. In fact, I’m almost looking forward to it, in a weird, twisted sort of way. I’m taking it at a three-day excuse to s.l.o.w. d.o.w.n.

I put a lot of pressure on myself during the weekends. I only have two days off a week, so I’m going to enjoy them, damnit, and I’m going to get the most out of them as I possibly can. I feel let down if my weekends don’t include the perfect balance of activity, relaxation, and productivity. I need a certain amount of time to lie around and read, but I also don’t want to be bored, and I have to find time for housework, projects and laundry. So if I don’t strike just the right chord, I feel like I wasted the weekend.

Well, this weekend will be different. I’ll be on the couch, drinking my meals, sleeping, doped up, reading, maybe even (gasp) watching a movie, and relaxing. When was the last time I gave myself an entire three-day weekend to sleep and get some rest? Never in my adult life, that’s for sure.

Does it stress me out a bit to think about the chores I won’t be doing? Yes. But guess what? I think the house will still be standing when Monday morning rolls around. : )

Namaste,
Jamie

6 responses to “Stop and smell the roses (tulips)

  1. Good luck! You’ll be fine. When I had mine out I went to a party the same night. It’s not as bad as you’d think :)

    Enjoy your weekend of doing nothing

  2. I think you are too much like your mother. I’ll be thinking of you.

  3. Wow. Too bad that it is your wisdom teeth forcing you to relax! Don’t worry about getting them pulled. It is cake. Take care of yourself and enjoy your lounging time. I totally agree with you about the weekends. I, too, have a mile long list of stuff I want to get done. Come Sunday night I am just exhausted. Blech.

  4. Good luck! I will send you strength and healing vibes this weekend :)

    They’re right you know, it’ll be alright :) (I won’t tell you my wisdom teeth story… i was the exception, and I am still all fine and well!).
    I hear ya about being forced to slow down. You’re right- it is the opportunity to take some time for you.

    (ps- beautiful flowers!!!)

    Lisa

  5. Good luck! Love that you are able to see the silver lining!

  6. I hope everything went smoothly! I’m sending positive vibes for a speedy recovery! (saltwater rinses are key!)

Leave a Reply

