I’m a Teacher!

I am very, very pleased to say that I am now officially a teacher! That’s right, all of your well-wishing and encouragement must have helped, because just last week I was contacted by a group of five friends in town who were all interested in doing yoga. Most of them are 100% beginner, which I just love love love. We had our first class on Sunday night and they liked it so much they wanted to plan for two nights a week! So after months of hard work, everything is working out. : ) I can’t wait to get to know these ladies better – they are such a fun group – and of course I will chronicle some of my teaching adventures here!

I am so thrilled about the opportunity to share yoga with people eager to learn about it. I am really blessed to have found such open-minded women who are so willing to push their boundaries and try something new!

And almost immediately after entering the world of teaching, I find myself, my confidence, and my courage being challenged. Such is life, right?

Many of you remember me discussing the Danville Area Yoga Retreat  that I attended last October and enjoyed so much. So you can imagine my excitement when Gordon called me last weekend to let me know he was organizing another retreat this coming July! I was immediately enthusiastic about the opportunity – especially because it falls on my birthday weekend : ) – and told Gordon I’d love to help him out in any way. I was thinking maybe he needed some assistance putting together or printing the program, getting the word out, something like that. But I also mentioned that I have been doing a little teaching myself these days and would be happy to fill a slot if he needed me to.

This week I received a letter from him inviting me to participate in the event…as a teacher! Whoa! This is all happening so fast. He’d like me to send him a bio and photo, and he wants me to come to town and teach him one-on-one so he can get familiar with my style.

I know that I can do this, but you guys, my confidence is definitely wavering. If you remember, I left the last retreat totally blown away by the skill and grace offered by the teachers. It is humbling to be included in their company, and it’s hard to feel worthy. I have been practicing yoga about half as long as some of these people have been teaching. I have only just wet my toes in the giant ocean of teaching, and even then only to beginners, while this day is aimed at intermediate to advanced students. Part of me is ecstatic about the opportunity to teach wheel, pigeon, and maybe even a handstand kick or two, but part of me is kind of star-struck and scared.

What do you think?

Namaste,
Jamie

11 responses to “I’m a Teacher!

  1. YAY!!! I am so happy for you :) WOOT! Sounds like the perfect beginning. :)

    I say- TAKE IT! You will be amazing!! He wouldn’t have asked you if he didn’t want you there.

    GO! :)

  2. Congratulations! Very excited for you. Don’t be nervous about teaching more advanced students. I’m sure you’ll find your voice.

  3. Jamie, you are awesome. You can cross a whole lot of things off of that list of goals you made in December.

  4. You know what I think!!!

    When we are meant to teach the universe calls us. Go for it and welcome welcome welcome to the cyber alliance of yoga teachers :D

  5. Congratulations! I’m sure you will be fine!
    I’ve also had already requests to teach and I am sooo nervous, I am in the process of organizing my paperwork to be able to do it. It would also be a group of beginners and although I know I can do it I still need to work on my confidence a little bit ;-)

    Go for it, you will be a great teacher, and you will learn a lot too :-)

  6. Ahhhhhh! This is crazy exciting! You know you have to give this teaching at the retreat thing a try. Otherwise, you will always regret it and look back and wonder, “What if?” This is your opportunity, girl! Seize it!

    And think of it this way- you just started teaching beginners yoga but by July they will all be a lot further along than they are now, so that will help. You’re also attending a class again that’s more advanced to keep challenging you. I think the key is practice and just keep pushing yourself in your own practice and then the confidence will follow.

  7. Congratulations!! I am so happy for you. You’ll find that your teaching opportunities will just keep growing. While veteran teachers can be intimidating, remember that you are bringing something very unique to your classes!

  8. Yay Jamie! I am so, so, so happy for you. Go for it. Being a new teacher is exciting and you have so many gifts to give. You WILL find your voice. Just trust and go for it. I definitely believe in you. Everything happens for a reason . . . be in the moment of it ALL !!!!

  9. I am SO happy, too, everyone. I just taught my second class and it went really well. The ladies I’m teaching are a great group of friends and they make it really fun. I’m so thankful for everyone’s support and encouragement here : )

  10. Belated congratulations, Jamie. It’s a crazy busy time for me so I’m way behind in others’ blogs and [good] news. It’s true that when you’re ready, things miraculously happen. As Julia Cameron says in The Artist’s Way, “Leap, and a net will appear.”

  11. Adding to all these other voices, Jamie, Congratulations!!! Embrace this opportunity!

    I have been teaching for about 4 years and since I am a compulsive advice-giver, here is my 2 cents for what it is worth to you:

    – Don’t make it up as you go! Prepare your sequence and learn it by heart. When you know (more or less!) where you are going your teaching flows much better and you will find your confidence improves a lot! Then if you feel the urge to improvise, you have a framework to do it in!
    – Find out how long your session will be and practice the sequence yourself to really feel the flow and so you know how long it will take. You might get nervous and feel pressured to fit too many poses in to “impress” your students – but in my view, a good flow and a nice long savasana is the best impression you can possibly give.
    – Be honest: be yourself. Teach from the heart. Your bio gives you a chance to let your potential students know that you are new to teaching, and also see your passion and love for yoga.

    Oh and some words of comfort: teaching beginners is 50 times HARDER than teaching intermediate students who know the poses already. So just keep teaching, keep practicing, and keep us posted! :) :)

Leave a Reply

