The night I didn’t practice

Last night I did not practice yoga. It was the first January day that I did not do at least 30 minutes of yoga, which means I am going to come up a little short of my 30 minutes for 31 days goal.

I’m not going to go into all of it here, but basically yesterday was a rough day. I didn’t get home until much later than usual, and I got some bad financial news as soon as I did get home. What it came down to is this: I had almost exactly 30 minutes to myself, and I chose to call my mom instead of practicing.

Now throughout the month of January I have had a couple of other days that I considered slightly-to-moderately stressful. I practiced yoga on those days, and it really helped relieve the stress. But those were run-of-the-mill stressors, and last night was something more. I could tell that what I really needed was a good cry and someone to listen. If I had gotten on my mat I would have had a hard time letting go of the things that were stressing me out, and what I needed to do was face them, discuss them, and come to peace with them. I knew I couldn’t shake those toxic feelings to focus on practice, and I didn’t want them on my mat with me.

Maybe to some people it sounds like I’m making excuses. But to me, last night was a real-world equivalent to taking child’s pose during a strenuous class. When that’s what my body needs, I acknowledge it. My practice (and my life) is about finding a balance between the healthy place of pushing myself to achieve goals and the not-so-healthy place of demanding too much of myself before I’m ready.

And sometimes, you just need a good cry with your mom. : )

4 responses to “The night I didn’t practice

  1. sounds like you DID practice yoga- you listened to your body and Self and chose something that would help HEAL and release. Sounds like yoga to me :)

    I hope you feel better, and I’m sorry that you got crappy news- I’m sending Strength and Light to you!!!

  2. Hello. EcoYogini beat me to it. I was going to say the same thing! Sometimes our yoga is not asana, but recognizing what it is we need in any given moment. For you, it was having that cry, talking it out. Good for you for recognizing that. I, too, am so sorry you had bad news. Breathing peace for you now!
    Namaste,
    Heather

  3. Enjoy your yoga training this weekend and a fun trip with your mom & sis! I know you will have a GREAT time and come back refreshed and centered. :)

  4. I think it is good to take care of yourself and do what your body craves. I loved the phrase “a real world child’s pose”. Perfect.

    Hope things start looking up!

Leave a Reply

