101 Goals

I have never been one to make a New Year’s resolution. I know that I can’t focus on just one thing for an entire year. Too much can change within a calendar year, and what I think is important on Dec 31 will probably be different in June, and even different again next year on Dec 31. Plus, the New Year’s resolutions I’ve made in the past have been really vague and hard to measure. “I want to be a better person.” “I want to be healthier.” Yeah…okay.

So, I have been doing some soul-searching the last few weeks and I wanted to name some things I’d like to get done, next year and over my lifetime. This is kind of a combination of the 101 goals in 1001 days  phenomenon, which sets a clear time limit on all the goals, and The Aladdin Factor’s  101 Wishes  exercise, which encourages you to write down anything you wish would happen to you, even silly things, because the act of writing it makes it more likely to come true.

It was too intimidating to me to come up with 101 goals within a certain timeframe. And I didn’t want to write down things that seemed even a little bit unrealistic, because I was already anticipating the guilt I’ll feel if I don’t accomplish these things. So I kind of evaluated the two approaches and (like I do so often in yoga) tweaked them to make them work for me.

If you are feeling at all like you’re lacking direction, or just like you want to get to know yourself better, I would encourage you to try an exercise like this. It was surprisingly hard to think of 101 things I want to do!

So here you have it, some 2010 goals and some lifetime goals, on and off the mat!

On the Mat – 2010

  1. Finish YogaFit Level 1 community service requirement and receive Level 1 certification.
  2. Attend YogaFit Level 2.
  3. Attend Anatomy and Alignment.
  4. Practice some sort of yoga (30 min minimum) every day for 30 days. Do this twice.
  5. Hold a headstand for ten breaths (with or without a wall).
  6. Hold a handstand for five breaths (with or without a wall).
  7. Hold at least one arm-balancing pose for five breaths.
  8. Establish a solid yoga teaching schedule, with at least one regular class.
  9. Have a photo session for my yoga promotional materials.
  10. Write for On the Mat at least twice a week, every week.
  11. Have at least one hit daily.
  12. Find more good music for yoga class.
  13. Quit the gym.
  14. Find a good way to develop a home practice and join yogaglo.com
  15. Get a blogroll going with other yogi/nis/interesting bloggers (anyone interested?)

Off the Mat – 2010

  1. Always have my next book picked out while I’m reading my current book.
  2. Re-read A Tale of Two Cities.
  3. Re-read A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius.
  4. Re-read the Harry Potter series.
  5. Re-/read three David Sedaris books.
  6. Re-read The Giver.
  7. Read five books of non-fiction that aren’t memoirs.
  8. Give one genuine compliment each day for a month.
  9. Take a week off from my full-time job (guilt-free) and spend it with my husband and dogs.
  10. Spend a night in Chicago with my husband.
  11. Go an entire day without checking any email, facebook, twitter, wordpress, etc. Spend the day doing productive things on this list. Do this six times.
  12. Go to Starved Rock with my husband and dogs.
  13. Purchase a houseplant and keep it alive.
  14. Own our home.
  15. Fence in the backyard.
  16. Use the credit cards only for emergencies (and remember that shopping at Target is not an emergency).
  17. Kiss Andy good night every night.
  18. Get in a career position that affords Andy and I both full medical, dental, and vision coverage.
  19. Get pregnant (once the above is accomplished).
  20. Be a source of support and encouragement for my two oldest friends who are both getting married in June 2010.
  21. Make a new friend.
  22. Volunteer some time for those in need (and don’t cheat by donating money instead).
  23. Send Andy for his August weekend away in Indianapolis, because he deserves it.
  24. Get a massage.
  25. Get a pedicure.
  26. Watch the sun rise once.
  27. Re-evaluate the 2010 portion of my list next year and feel proud of what I accomplished. Be kind to myself if I didn’t get to it all.
  28. Give five “I saw this and thought of you” gifts.
  29. Sing Karaoke in public.
  30. Learn 3 recipes that are healthy and that I can make easily, just for me.
  31. Send someone flowers.
  32. Go ice skating.
  33. Win something.
  34. Go to a zoo.
  35. Have a body scan at the dermatologist.
  36. Have at least 6 “happy hours” with the girls.
  37. Send in a PostSecret.
  38. Treat myself to fresh flowers for the house twice.
  39. Keep the dogs caught up on flea/heartworm medicine at all times.
  40. Go see a concert.
  41. Take a guilt-free mental health day.
  42. Eat nothing fried for two weeks.
  43. Be a vegetarian for one month.
  44. Spend more quality time with my quality hubby.
  45. No overdraft fees in 2010.
  46. No speeding tickets in 2010.
  47. Clean out my Gmail inbox – save fewer than 300 conversations (over 2,100 and counting).
  48. Go to the pool at least once.
  49. Get in a hot tub!
  50. Continue limiting caffeine (1 drink per week if at all).
  51. Call my grandparents on their birthdays.
  52. Get family pictures done (me, the hubby, and the two dogs).
  53. Make Andy a homemade gift for our two-year anniversary.
  54. Be done with Christmas shopping by Dec 7, 2010 (it felt so good this year!).
  55. Send Niko home happily.
  56. Discover a new musician that I love.
  57. Sell the clarinet(s) and use the money for yoga trainings.
  58. Go rollerblading.

Lifetime goals

  1. Retrain YogaFit Level 1.
  2. Attend YogaFit Level 3.
  3. Retrain Level 2 or 3.
  4. Attend YogaFit Seniors.
  5. Attend Pre/Post-Natal.
  6. Attend YogaFit Level 4.
  7. Attend YogaFit Level 5.
  8. Once all these are complete, become a RYT-200.
  9. Get a new car.
  10. Pay off credit cards and medical debt.
  11. Purchase adequate life insurance.
  12. Pay off student loans.
  13. Have two or three children.
  14. Be a loving mother and wife.
  15. See the Indigo Girls in concert again.
  16. See Brandi Carlile in concert.
  17. See Les Miserables again.
  18. Upgrade to a King-sized bed.
  19. Travel to each region of the US (__ Northwest – __ Southwest – __ Northeast – X Southeast – X Midwest)
  20. Travel to a different continent.
  21. Learn to keep my negative thoughts to myself (the first step to not having so many negative thoughts).
  22. Turn jealousy and resentment into gratitude, one thought at a time.
  23. Practice self compassion in the place of self criticism.
  24. Accept that I am a “planning” person, and that’s okay, but that not everything in life can be planned, and that’s okay too.
  25. Remember not to take my family and friends for granted.
  26. Learn to make sugar cookies just like my grandma does.
  27. Touch my toes on my 80th birthday.
  28. Work harder at carrying yoga with me throughout my days.

Namaste,
Jamie

8 responses to “101 Goals

  1. i’ll blogroll you, sugar :)

    anything to help check something off the list…!

    cheers,

    emma

  2. Thanks! I will get going on that soon : )

  3. I love all of your wishes! I did this a few months ago and it really helps you to realize what’s most important to you and the dreams you want to accomplish in your precious time on this planet!

  4. I think you should get all of the on the mat things done before you get pregnant. :) I’m impressed but not surprised with the high goals you are trying to achieve. I hope you don’t kick yourself too hard if you don’t get everything done. You can send me flowers! ;) Love you

  5. Hi Jamie,
    I made it to your blog and I think I’ll just cut and paste your list to myself as my own list of want to do this year…but perhaps my resolution should be to make my own list. How can I do any of it if I can’t even get the list done of things I want to do?!
    Well, A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius is totally in my top five favorite books of all time.
    Now I’m reading Edith Wharton books again and they’re so funny and I can’t believe how much I missed when I read it as a young girl in college.
    Anyhow, nice to meet you. Thanks for the inspiration.
    -Sandy’s daughter

    • Hi Angi! Thanks for stopping by. : ) I also love Dave Eggers, and his new book Zeitoun is incredible. I am also going to try to finish a David Foster Wallace book this year – that’s long overdue. It was nice to meet you too!

  6. Promise me you will invite me when you decide to do #29. That’s something I’ve always wanted to do but am too chicken for so if I can witness you do it, maybe it’ll finally encourage me! :)

Leave a Reply

