“I wanna quit the gym!”

I wanna quit the gym. I joined there last October with the intention of finding a nice balance between cardio and yoga. I liked it because it was only $37.50 a month for all of the classes, the pool, the cardio equipment, the locker room, and child care (which I don’t need, but it’s nice that it’s there, right?).

Well, in the past year I’ve probably hit the treadmill and elliptical about 12 times combined, which I’m ashamed to admit. But there it is. I do a really good job at a lot of things in my life, but I’m pretty terrible at exercising enough. I could do yoga much more often, too, but that’s another post.

So when I joined the gym, there was a 1 hr 15 min class on Monday and Wednesday…which has slowly dwindled to a 1 hr class on Monday only. So I pay $37.50 a month for four classes and the (completely unrealized) potential of a cardio workout, which is still not a bad price, except that I’m busy (and I make excuses) and I don’t remember the last time there was a month that I made it to all four Monday classes. So really I pay $37.50 a month for 2-3 classes. And I’d still be okay with that because I like my teacher a lot, except that she and I are trained in the same format, so her classes are a lot like mine and if I’m paying $12.50-$18.75 for a class I’d like it to really blow my mind.

(Those of you who know me in real life can tell I feel guilty about all of this because I’m rambling and “talking” so quickly and justifying every other sentence I say.)

So it brings to mind the Friends episode where they all find out that Chandler belongs to the gym even though they’ve never seen him go. It goes a little like this:

Chandler: Oh, yeah, I’m a gym member. I try to go four times a week, but I’ve missed the last… twelve hundred times.
Ross:  So why don’t you quit?
Chandler: You don’t think I’ve tried? You think I like having 50 dollars taken out of my bank account every month? No, they make you go all the way down there! Then they use all these phrases and peppiness to try to confuse you. And then they bring out Maria.
Ross: Who is Maria?
Chandler: Ah, Maria. You can’t say no to her. She’s like this lycra/spandex covered gym… treat.

So, Ross thinks that’s absurd and goes with him to provide moral support while Chandler quits. Chandler has to explain to the associate why it’s a good idea that he’s quitting (“I hate it here! Everything you have is very heavy!”) and Ross ends up joining the gym because they bring out Maria again.

Well, I just called my gym and asked about the terms of my membership. I found out all I have to do is quit three days before I’m billed for my next month and that’s that. No one cares if I quit or not. There’s definitely no svelt awesome man waiting to talk me out of quitting.

If I do quit the gym, I plan on joining yogaglo because over on Eco Yogini’s blog, she says it works really well for her.

There’s only one hiccup with this plan: I currently have three dogs living in my house. So can I really take an online yoga class and keep them distracted enough with treats and toys so they’re not tickling me with their tongues while I’m in a headstand? Or can I have the willpower and inner meanness to make them stay in their cages an extra hour while I practice (and try to tune out the guilt-inducing whining I may hear)? I don’t know.

So my question to you guys is this: Can I quit the gym? Am I an insane, unheard of type of yogini who hates cardio and doesn’t care if I ever see another elliptical in my life? So many people I know who are serious about yoga are also serious about running, tennis, swimming, something. Not me. Am I an imposter?

I feel like if I quit the gym, I’ll have to really step it up with my yoga practice to compensate for the cardio exercise I’m missing (which I don’t do anyway). So that is almost putting too much pressure on myself.

Do any of you out there have pets? How do you practice while Fido and Mr. Kitty are around?

I obviously need help. Please do a better job for me than Ross did for Chandler.

Namaste,
Jamie

5 responses to ““I wanna quit the gym!”

  1. you are definitely NOT insane or weird for not liking the gym. i hate the gym. i hate cardio…. so mindless and boring (I find). When we had gym memberships in BC, we would go and Andrew would use the machines and I would practice yoga in a free studio…. what a waste of money.

    yogaglo is AWESOME. :) I do find, however, that it’s harder to “shut off” your brain for the amount of time at home, because no one is watching you if you get up to blow your nose, have a drink of water, answer the phone etc. I thin kanother post is in order for my Personal Practice Adventure… lol.

    Andrew loves running and all summer he did the couch to 5k and found it VERY meditative…. which I thought was interesting. So that might be a different cardio for you- outside running. He also found that the treadmill is terrible and has since stopped running this winter cuz he hates running on the treadmill.

    as for your furry friends…. hmmm. I’m not sure. i mean Southern Yogi has a dog that I know practices with her sometimes at home- she might have some insights.

    Can’t wait to hear what happens!

    • Loved this blog, especially with the reminder of that hilarious episode of Friends, which I do, in fact remember. (Think we can find the video?).

      Anyway, I hate all endurance sports, too. I happen to love tennis and have played all my life, so that’s my cardio. But I avoid swimming and running like the plague.

      If I didn’t have tennis I’m sure I’d do what you are thinking about–just build an exercise program around Yoga. I’m sure that will work just fine.

      You’ll be pleased to hear that some modern health commentators think that moderate non-repetitive exercise is much better for your overall health than aerobic endurance sports. Many suggest walking and gardening over running and ellipticals.

      Good luck.

      Bob Weisenberg
      http://YogaDemystified.com

  2. Thanks for your support guys! It’s a work in progress, I suppose.

    Eco- I had never heard of couch to 5k before but I googled it and I have to say I’m tempted to try it!

    Bob- I’m lucky enough to have the whole series on DVD so I can watch it whenever I want : )

  3. Um, what about a babygate? So, they can romp around the home and watch you doing yoga but out of licking distance?
    Once on Utube I saw a video called why mom’s can’t do yoga, the mom does a headstand and then a crawling baby comes over and pulls her shirt down to nurse while she’s upside down. After watching that having a dog drooling on your mat while you’re in crow isn’t even a bother.

    • A baby gate would work except we have this 110 year old house with very wide doorways. If they make a baby gate that stretched that far, I wouldn’t want to see it! : ) But I think that I can just go upstairs and leave the dogs to their own devices for a while. My beautiful “yoga room” is downstairs, but I think my bedroom would work in a pinch!

Leave a Reply

