Yoga in the news – for kids

kidyogaCNN published a great story about Decatur Yoga and Pilates studio in the Atlanta area, which teaches yoga to children.

The article focuses on the positive effects of yoga for children who are extremely high-energy and/or have trouble focusing.

One teacher said, “I’ve seen yoga give kids their control back. They feel like they’re taking it and they can steer again.” (I know as an adult, I feel the same way)

A parent agreed, saying “I once found him in his bedroom chanting. It almost seems like we put him on a yoga mat instead of putting him on medication.”

I took a look at the studio’s website and it seems great. Their classes aren’t cheap, but I’m still impressed, especially for a metro area.

My overall impression of the article and the gorgeous accompanying photographs?  It took me a year to get in some of the poses these kids make look effortless! : )

Namaste,
Jamie

Leave a Reply

