That sound you hear is the blood rushing to my head

Tonight I did a supported headstand!

I had never attempted a headstand before so I was so thrilled that I could pull it off. I yelled to my hubby in the other room to “get the camera!” I spent about five minutes moving in and out of the pose and it was really incredible.

If you know me in real life, you know I lack a certain amount of grace and tend to be incredibly clumsy. I have improved significantly through yoga, but I am still not very coordinated and I tend to walk into walls more frequently than I usually admit. So I’m incredibly proud of myself that I did this without injuring my neck. Of course, it will be a while before my heels come off the wall, but I am really practicing “letting go of expectations”.

I had the photo up, but decided to take it down out of modesty. I always practice fully clothed, but tonight I was really sweating during my warm-up and my shirt smelled like burning leaves — it was very distracting. So the photo is a tiny bit NSFB (Not Suitable for Blogging), and I don’t want to offend any of my new blog readers : ) You can marvel at this yogajournal photo, instead!

supportedheadstand

Whoo-hoo!

Namaste,
Jamie

2 responses to “That sound you hear is the blood rushing to my head

  1. I used to be very good at headstands. I’m thinking of trying to do one.

Leave a Reply

